Mark McGowan

Mark McGowan

Minister for Education and Training; South West

    Academy Awards for Education offer $375,000 in prize money

    16/06/2008 12:00 AM

    The Academy Awards for Education, which are richer than the Archibald Prize, are now up for grabs for Western Australia’s public educators and schools.


    Education and Training Minister Mark McGowan launched the call for nominations for the WA Education Awards 2008.


    Unveiling the new awards today, Mr McGowan said the Carpenter Government was building on the State’s booming economy to deliver a world-class education system for the future.


    “The new awards provide $375,000 in prize money for the State’s best public teachers, principals, school support staff, TAFEWA lecturers and schools,” he said.


    “We have one of the best public education systems in the world and it is important that we recognise the achievements of those people who are at the forefront of our success.


    “This year, we have combined earlier prizes into one awards program to highlight the outstanding achievements in public education across the State.”


    The Minister said there were thousands of parents, students and community members who admired their school staff members and were proud of what was being achieved at their school.


    “The new schools categories in these awards are fantastic because they recognise the teamwork that goes into making an excellent school,” he said.


    “Each school category winner will receive $15,000 with each school finalist receiving $2,500.


    “I urge the WA community to nominate the person who makes a real difference in their school - be it a teacher, lecturer, principal, education assistant, gardener, cleaner or the school itself.”


    The WA Education Awards 2008 individual categories are:


    ·        WA Teacher of the Year (metropolitan) - $25,000;

    ·        WA Teacher of the Year (rural/remote) - $25,000;

    ·        WA Lecturer of the Year (TAFEWA) - $25,000;

    ·        WA Principal of the Year - $40,000;  and

    ·        WA Support Staff Member of the Year - $25,000. 


    The Premier’s Teacher of the Year award winner will receive a total of $100,000 in prize money and will be chosen from the metropolitan and rural/remote teacher and TAFE categories.


    New categories for schools include:

    ·        WA Literacy School of the Year - $15,000, sponsored by the Sunday Times;

    ·        WA Numeracy School of the Year - $15,000, sponsored by the Teachers Credit Union;

    ·        WA Science School of the Year - $15,000, sponsored by Exxon Mobil; and

    ·        WA Innovative School of the Year - $15,000.


    Winners are selected by a panel of high profile community and Government representatives based on nomination statements, which demonstrate their innovation, commitment and collaborative approach to teaching and lecturing.


    Nominations close on August 22 and the award winners will be announced on December 8.


    Further information about the awards is available at

    or by calling 9264 4884.


    Minister's office  - 9222 9111