John Kobelke

John Kobelke

Minister for Police and Emergency Services; Community Safety; Water Resources; Sport and Recreation

    Water innovators invited to enter prestigious awards

    30/05/2008 12:00 AM

    Nominations are open for the 2008 Water Awards, which will recognise Western Australian organisations and professionals who have designed projects or incorporated efficiency and innovation in water use into their trade, industry and community.


    Water Resources Minister John Kobelke said the awards, which were organised by the Department of Water and the Water Corporation, would honour individuals and groups who were helping to build a sustainable future for all Western Australians.


    “Innovation is what drives our community forward, and it should be recognised,”

    Mr Kobelke said.


    “Conservation and water efficiency have never been so important to our lives.


    “In meeting the challenges of uncertain rainfall patterns and increasing demand for existing groundwater resources, individuals and groups practising water efficiency and waterwise behaviour can really make a difference.


    “By recognising the leaders in this field, the 2008 Water Awards ensure water efficiency remains at the forefront of the minds of all Western Australians and is adopted into our way of life.”


    The award categories are:


    ·        Waterwise Plumber;

    ·        Waterwise Garden Irrigator;

    ·        Waterwise Landscaper;

    ·        Waterwise Garden Centre;

    ·        Waterwise Land Development;

    ·        Waterwise Business and Government Agency;

    ·        Waterwise School;

    ·        Management of Water Resources;

    ·        Water Conservation and Efficiency;

    ·        Water Recycling; and

    ·        Water Innovation.


    An award for excellence will be awarded to the most outstanding category winner.


    Nominations close on Friday, August 1. To enter, visit


    Minister's office - 9222 9211