Ljiljanna Ravlich

Ljiljanna Ravlich

Minister for Local Government; Racing and Gaming; Multicultural Interests and Citizenship; Government Enterprises; Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning and Infrastructure; Goldfields-Esperance; Youth

    Last chance to nominate a young person for a 2008 WA Youth Award

    4/03/2008 12:00 AM

    The deadline for nominating a young person in the 2008 WA Youth Awards has been extended.  Entries are now open until Friday, March 7 at 5pm.


    Members of the public are being encouraged to nominate outstanding young people for the awards online at http://www.childrenandyouth.wa.gov.au.


    Youth Minister Ljiljanna Ravlich said the awards aimed to recognise and reward outstanding young Western Australians aged 13 to 25 years, and profile their strengths and accomplishments.


    We have already received many outstanding nominations that highlight the hard work and contributions that young people make to their communities, but we would really like to know about all of the amazing things being accomplished by youth in WA,” Ms Ravlich said.


    “All too often young people are portrayed as trouble makers, but the majority of WA’s youth are positively involved in their communities and striving to do their best, in order to reach their goals.


    “This is the tenth year that we have celebrated young peoples’ achievements through the WA Youth Awards, and this is a major milestone for the State’s premier youth awards program.”

    The 2008 WA Youth Award category winners will be announced during National Youth Week (April 5-13) at a gala presentation event on Thursday, April 10 at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre.


    Category winners receive a cash prize of $2,000 and a voyage aboard the STS Leeuwin. The WA Young Person of the Year will receive two return tickets to a European destination, courtesy of Singapore Airlines.


    For an entry form, visit http://www.childrenandyouth.wa.gov.au or contact the Department for Communities on (08) 6217 8400 or Freecall 1800 281 116.


    Minister's office - 9213 6800