Sue Ellery

Sue Ellery

Minister for Child Protection; Communities; Women's Interests; Seniors and Volunteering

    Hundreds of WA women celebrate their outstanding peers

    7/03/2008 12:00 AM

    More than 300 business women and 400 high school girls heard inspirational stories of achievement today when they converged on Perth Convention Centre to mark International Women’s Day on March 8.


    Women’s Interests Minister Sue Ellery said the annual Worldly Women event honoured remarkable Western Australians who were shining examples of how women could achieve success in their personal and professional lives.


    “We were very fortunate today to listen to the experiences of four inspirational young women,” Ms Ellery said.


    The speakers were: 2004 Australian Trainee of the Year Sam Johnson, who until the age of 20 was illiterate; drug addict turned anti-drug crusader and 2003 Young Person of the Year Jade Lewis; TV sports reporter Caty Price; and tax adviser and women’s rights advocate Ren Balakrishnan.


    The Minister said that with the theme of International Women’s Day this year, ‘Women, Science and Technology’, the Worldly Women event provided an opportunity to encourage high school girls to pursue careers in what were still male-dominated fields.


    “TEE results each year clearly demonstrate girls’ strengths in the sciences, yet women are still under-represented in these types of occupations,” Ms Ellery said.


    “The significant achievements of the many WA women who work as scientists, researchers and in the technology sector need to be celebrated and better recognised so that these professionals are retained in their field.


    “We also need to continue to attract young women to study science and technology so that more women can go on to be the leaders of tomorrow.”


    Oxford University educated Professor Lyn Beazley was among the hundreds of women who attended Worldly Women.  Dr Beazley was appointed WA’s chief scientist in 2006 - the first woman to attain the prestigious position.


    Minister's Office - 9213 7150