Sheila McHale

Sheila McHale

Minister for Disability Services; Tourism; Culture and the Arts; Consumer Protection

    Excellence in consumer protection recognised

    14/03/2008 12:00 AM

    The anguish of having a son seriously burnt led to a Mukinbudin couple developing a child safety product which has taken out top honours at this year’s Consumer Protection Awards.

    Graeme and Sharynn McCormack spent six years working on their heat-resistant Oven Guard, after an accident in which their then-toddler sustained severe burns from touching a hot urn during a dinner party at home.


    Announcing the winners of the 2008 Consumer Protection Awards today, Consumer Protection Minister Sheila McHale presented the McCormacks, of Lee-Beau Creations, with the inaugural Kidsafe WA Award for product safety.


    “This new award highlights the important role played by individuals and business in developing products that keep children safe,” Ms McHale said.


    “The McCormacks developed the Oven Guard because there was no similar product on the market.”


    The other winners were:


    ·                     radio presenter Graham Mabury, who was awarded the Rona Okely Award for outstanding contribution by an individual; and


    ·                     Southern Communities Advocacy Legal Education Service Inc (SCALES), which won the Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award for contribution to consumer protection by an organisation.


    “These awards acknowledge the outstanding contributions of individuals,

    non-Government organisations and businesses in advancing consumer protection issues,” the Minister said.


    Ms McHale described Rona Okely Award winner Graham Mabury as a champion of the rights of consumers for 25 years through his talkback radio program ‘Nightline’.


    “Graham has a genuine interest in community education and empowerment through knowledge,” she said.


    “His contributions extend beyond his weeknight program to his role in Livingstone Foundation, now called Lifeline.”


    The Minister said Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award winner, SCALES, established a tenants’ court duty service that provided tenants with advice, advocacy and assistance in court processes in the Rockingham area. 


    “The service has had an overwhelmingly positive impact on tenants, helping them to avoid ongoing debt, blacklisting on tenant databases, eviction and homelessness,” she said.


    “The service operates as an innovative partnership between SCALES staff, Murdoch University School of Law students and the Rockingham Magistrates Court.”


    All winners receive a trophy, certificate of achievement and $2,500.


    The finalists in each category were:


    WA Kidsafe WA Award -

    ·                     Sharynn and Graeme McCormack, creators of the Lea-Beau Oven Guard; and

    ·                     Imogen Mirmikidis, creator of the Hurphy Durphy Seat Belt Buckle Guard.


    Rona Okely Award -

    ·                     Graham Mabury, Nightline presenter;

    ·                     Consumer advocate Denise Brailey, founder of the Real Estate Consumers Association; and

    ·                     Rowena Strain, of Broome, founder of the Residents Action Group.


    Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award -

    ·                     Southern Communities Advocacy Legal Education Service Inc. (SCALES);

    ·                     WA No Interest Loans Network Inc; and

    ·                     Citizen Advocacy Perth West Inc.


    Minister's Office - 9213 6900