Jon Ford

Jon Ford

Minister for Employment Protection; Regional Development; Fisheries; the Kimberley, Pilbara and Gascoyne

Kim Chance

Kim Chance

Minister for Agriculture and Food; Forestry; the Mid West and Wheatbelt; Great Southern

    New members join Rural Women's Network

    8/01/2008 1:32 PM

    The State Government today announced the appointment of six new members to Western Australia’s Rural, Remote and Regional (RRR) Women’s Network reference group to help connect women and families throughout WA.

    The RRR network, a joint initiative between the Department of Agriculture and Food and the Department of Local Government and Regional Development links and shares information among regional communities.

    Agriculture and Food Minister Kim Chance said the network recognised the enormous contribution women made to their communities and aimed to increase their participation in regional matters.

    Mr Chance said the new regionally-based members brought a range of interests, expertise and background to the group and were aware of issues which had an impact on women.

    The new appointees are Michelle Beer, Geraldton, Kellie Guest, Esperance, Louise House, Watheroo, Kate O’Keefe, Gnowangerup, Dianne Westlake, Carnarvon and Amanda Lovitt, Australind.

    The new members and existing members Donna Fahie of Jandakot and Eliza Thomas of Mullewa, were appointed for a two-year term until December 2009. They join seven remaining sitting members, including new chair Ros Hegarty of Kununurra.

    Regional Development Minister Jon Ford said the RRR Network provided relevant and up-to-date information to rural, remote and regional women, industries, government and communities.

    “The group has been operating for 11 years and has become a strong unifying link for sharing and disseminating information to women living in regional WA,” Mr Ford said.

    Ministers Ford and Chance welcomed the new members and thanked retiring members Wendy Newman, Kathleen Menck, Millie Ferguson and Prue Jenkins, and former Chair Rosa Lincoln for their valuable contribution to the network.

    Minister's office - 9213 6700