Michelle Roberts

Michelle Roberts

Minister for Housing and Works; Indigenous Affairs; Heritage; Land Information

    New heritage councillors appointed

    9/01/2008 1:00 PM

    Five new councillors have been appointed to the Heritage Council of Western Australia, with long-standing councillor Gerry Gauntlett continuing in his position as chairperson.

    Heritage Minister Michelle Roberts today announced that Jeff Carr, Norman Etherington, Martine White, Anne Arnold and Henry Zelones would be the new faces on the council.

    “They join re-appointed councillors Marion Fulker, Phillip Griffiths and David Dolan and chairperson Gerry Gauntlett, who has served on the council for more than 10 years,” Mrs Roberts said.

    “The councillors represent the community on heritage issues and come from various backgrounds including real estate, planning, local government and history.

    “Together, they bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the council and will be responsible for setting the strategic direction of heritage in WA.

    “Working with the community, they will renew and reinvigorate the council and, most importantly, ensure the State’s cultural heritage is appropriately conserved and protected.”

    The Minister said the Heritage Council would be providing advice on major redevelopments in 2008, as well as developing a new strategic plan, including a new vision.

    “Exciting redevelopments such as the Old Treasury Buildings and the Newspaper House Group Buildings* will keep the council busy, in addition to many other decisions relating to the registration and development of heritage places,” she said.

    “Primarily though, the council will work with Western Australians to recognise, conserve and celebrate our State’s fine cultural heritage.”

    Mrs Roberts thanked the outgoing councillors for their hard work and service.

    “I congratulate Ron Davies, Jennifer Moen, Ainslie Evans, Philip Vincent and Dr Christine Choo for their exceptional dedication to protecting the State’s heritage,” she said.

    The new council will meet for the first time on February 8.

    (*123-137 St George’s Terrace, Perth, also known as City Square)

    Minister's office - 9213 6600