David Templeman

David Templeman

Minister for the Environment; Climate Change; Peel

    WA honours conservation volunteers

    5/12/2007 2:34 PM

    Environment and Climate Change Minister David Templeman today honoured 13 volunteers for their significant contribution to the conservation and appreciation of the Western Australia’s unique biodiversity.

    Mr Templeman said the volunteers had shown great community spirit and dedication in assisting the Department of Environment and Conservation in its work throughout the State.

    “Volunteers play an important role in the management and protection of our unique environment,” he said.

    “The Carpenter Government is committed to encouraging the community to become involved in the protection of our environment and to make greater use of our wonderful network of parks and reserves.

    “DEC’s Community Involvement program is an excellent example of how we are acting now for the future and better engaging the community in conservation management.

    “It now has about 4,000 volunteers contributing approximately 496,000 hours of support to the department. That’s a terrific effort.”

    The Minister said DEC volunteers came from many groups, including 4WD clubs and Conservation Volunteers Australia throughout the State.

    “The State Government acknowledges and commends DEC volunteers for their efforts and is committed to providing information and training to ensure that volunteers are well informed about operations, volunteer programs and risk issues,” he said.

    DEC’s volunteer programs include Campground Hosts, Wildlife Rehabilitators, honorary CALM Officers, WILDCARE Helpline, regional and national parks friends groups, Bibbulmun Track and Munda Biddi volunteers, turtle tagging volunteers and flora survey volunteers.

    “All volunteers across these programs make a significant contribution and are to be congratulated for their dedication and commitment to WA’s environment,” Mr Templeman said.

    This year, Volunteer of the Year awards were presented to:
    • Ms Ruth England, Shoalwater Islands volunteer at Penguin Island;
    • Ms Marian Maughan, Shoalwater Islands volunteer at Penguin Island;
    • Ms Daphne Edinger, Landscope Expedition biologist volunteer; and
    • Ms Mavis Sowry, Frankland District biodiversity volunteer.
    Outstanding service awards were presented to:
    • Frankland District volunteers - Ted Middleton, Colin Steele, Jeanne Steele, Margaret Pieroni, Steve Hawks, Kerry Clark, Gary Schwab and Wendy Schwab; and
    • Mr Jim Baker, Bibbulmun Track Foundation volunteer.
    Minister's office - 9220 5050