John Kobelke

John Kobelke

Minister for Police and Emergency Services; Community Safety; Water Resources; Sport and Recreation

    State's outstanding firefighters recognised

    8/10/2007 9:48 AM

    Career and volunteer firefighters who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to protect the Western Australian community were honoured today.

    Emergency Services Minister John Kobelke said the RAC Insurance Firefighting Awards recognised firefighters who had made a worthwhile contribution to the community and Fire Services.

    “With the upcoming bush fire season predicted to be as severe as last year, it is very fitting to recognise the work the State’s firefighters undertake to protect the community,” Mr Kobelke said.

    “Nominees and finalists have demonstrated commitment and dedication through initiating a range of projects, including important community safety strategies and new practices to improve safety.

    “These awards highlight the achievements of our Fire Service and reinforce the high standard of emergency service that communities across the State rely upon.

    “I congratulate them for their great dedication and commitment and for helping to make Western Australia a safer place and wish them well during the bush fire season.”

    The following winners were selected from a total field of 30 nominations:

    Career Fire and Rescue Service of WA Award:
    District manager Rik Lieftink has been recognised for his work in developing and implementing strategies in FESA’s Urban Search and Rescue (USAR), Confined Space, Heavy Rescue and Road Accident Rescue areas. Through developing networks with agencies such as WA Police, St John Ambulance, the Department of Health, as well as the Singapore Civil Defence Force, FESA’s USAR team is regarded as one of the best in Australia.

    Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service of WA Award:
    Joint winners - firefighters from York, Wundowie and Northam Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service have been recognised for their ability to provide an effective and efficient service to the community, in particular during road crashes along the Great Eastern Highway. The brigades have attended a number of crashes which have resulted in fatalities.

    Murray Lang Volunteer Bush Fire Service of WA Award:
    Kim Maddern from Byford Bush Fire Brigade has been acknowledged for her involvement with the Serpentine-Jarrahdale Bush Fire Cadets and the Bush Fire Games. She spends a considerable amount of time undertaking community education and prevention programs.

    Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service of WA Youth Achievement Award:
    Renae Westly from the South Hedland Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service has been recognised for her exceptional dedication to the Brigade through co-ordinating upgrades to the station and undertaking community safety visits at local schools, as well as attending between 200 to 300 callouts per year.

    Volunteer Bush Fire Service of WA Youth Achievement Award:
    Dalye Halleen of Wanneroo Bush Fire Brigade has been acknowledged for his dedication to the community through attending the majority of fires the brigade was called out to last bush fire season. He assists and welcomes new members to the brigade, along with undertaking the role of equipment officer.

    Initiated by the Rotary Club of Whitfords, the Firefighting Awards have been held annually since 1998 to recognise the outstanding efforts of firefighters who support the WA community, with nominations submitted from members of the public, volunteers and FESA staff.

    The sponsors are RAC Insurance; Western Power; Scania; the Association of Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades and Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association.

    Minister's office - 9222 9211