Jon Ford

Jon Ford

Minister for Employment Protection; Regional Development; Fisheries; the Kimberley, Pilbara and Gascoyne

    Carpenter Government Ministers visit Harvey

    11/07/2007 10:30 AM

    Representatives of the Carpenter Government’s Cabinet Standing Committee on Regional Policy (CSCRP) will meet in Harvey today.

    The Cabinet Standing Committee provides Government with advice and recommendations to deliver better services to the regions.

    The CSCRP meeting will be attended by Regional Development Minister Jon Ford, who is chairman of the committee, South-West Minister Mark McGowan and Peel Minister David Templeman.

    “The meeting in Harvey provides a unique opportunity for the committee to experience first hand the issues of importance to communities outside the metropolitan area,” Mr Ford said.

    “Issues being discussed today will include attracting skilled professionals to regional areas, and maximising opportunities for regional businesses to promote local goods and services. These issues are crucial to regional centres such as Harvey.

    “While there has been much focus on the impact of growth from the North-West mining boom, the rest of regional Western Australia is also being impacted by pressures from extra growth in this State.”

    The three Ministers will also hold discussions on the importance of demographic change on the demand for agencies and infrastructure in the South-West and will meet with the Shire of Harvey to discuss local issues.

    While in the Harvey region, the Ministers will visit local Harvey businesses to discuss regional issues and opportunities. Mr McGowan will also announce the opening of the South West Regional Development Schemes.

    “The Carpenter Government is keen to encourage innovation and promote new industries and skills to ensure regional Western Australians have well paid jobs in to the future,” Mr Ford said.

    The Minister said the Cabinet Standing Committee on Regional Policy’s visit to Harvey demonstrated the Carpenter Government’s continuing commitment to regional WA.

    Minister's office - 9213 7200