Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Former Minister for Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Electoral Affairs

    WA’s top Aboriginal public school students for 2016

    13/02/2017 2:20 PM
    • Rob Riley Memorial Prizes awarded to students from Comet Bay College and Perth Modern School
    • Winners receive $5,000 towards further education and training 

    The two top Aboriginal public school Year 12 students for 2016 have been named Rob Riley Memorial Prize winners at a ceremony today.


    Education and Aboriginal Affairs Minister Peter Collier announced Perth Modern School graduate Patrick Olofsson as the Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) prize winner, and Comet Bay College graduate Elli Swinson as winner of the Vocational Education and Training (VET) prize.


    "Both students have big plans for the future and I am delighted to reward the hard work that sees them on the path to achieving their goals," Mr Collier said.


    "Elli has always had an interest in aeroplanes and aviation and she used her certificate course in aviation studies to get closer to her dream of jet-setting around the world.


    "She plans to put her academic achievements and flight simulation experiences to good use as she pursues a career as a flight attendant.


    "Elli is a determined student who achieved not only her WACE and a Certificate III in Aviation (flight operations), but also a Certificate II in Community Services and a Certificate II in Retail Services."


    From aeroplanes to aerodynamics and beyond, the Minister said that Patrick Olofsson from Perth Modern School would use his outstanding ATAR to fulfil a love of astrophysics.


    "Patrick received an exceptional ATAR of 96.6 and will study a Bachelor of Science majoring in astrophysics at Curtin University this year," Mr Collier said.


    "He excelled in physics, as well as chemistry, English, food science and technology, and specialist mathematics."


    Fact File

    • Rob Riley was an Aboriginal leader who made outstanding contributions in social justice, Aboriginal human rights and reconciliation
    • The Rob Riley Memorial Prizes are awarded each year to the leading Aboriginal Year 12 WACE student and the leading Aboriginal VET student in public school 

    Minister's office - 6552 6300