Hon John Day BSc BDSc MLAHon John Day BSc BDSc MLA

Minister for Health; Culture and the Arts

    Winners announced for Robert Finley Awards

    19/12/2016 1:25 PM
    • Ryan Taaffe and Jeff Leeder awarded Independent Theatre Association Life Memberships
    • Lyn Hutcheon and Jon Woolrych win Hall of Fame Awards
    • Kent Acott wins Norma Davis Outstanding Service to Community Theatre Award 

    Culture and the Arts Minister John Day presented Ryan Taaffe and Jeff Leeder with life memberships on Saturday night (December 17) for their continued outstanding service to the Independent Theatre Association at the 42nd annual Robert Finley Awards held at the State Theatre Centre of Western Australia.


    The Robert Finley Awards are the longest running of their kind, recognising the outstanding contribution of individuals to amateur theatre as well as its role in the community.


    Mr Day said it was well understood that engagement and participation in the arts delivered significant social and cultural benefits.


    "Over the past 42 years, the Independent Theatre Association, through its members, has established a significant platform to create and share its stories," he said.


    "This commitment and dedication to the arts deserves to be recognised and I am delighted to have been asked to present three of the awards."


    The Minister also presented Lyn Hutcheon and Jon Woolrych with Hall of Fame Awards and Kent Acott with the Norma Davis Outstanding Service to Community Theatre Award.


    Other awards presented included Robert Finley Awards for Best Play and Best Musical, Best Youth Production, Best Choreographer, and Best Musical Director.


    Fact File

    • The adjudication of the awards is administered by the Independent Theatre Association on behalf of its member clubs
    • The Robert Finley Awards for Best Play and Best Musical are made available by the Finley Trust Fund, established in 1986 by Miss Hetty Finley, in memory of her brother Robert. The fund is controlled by the Finley Trustees through the Perth Theatre Trust
    • For more information, visit http://www.ita.org.au/robert-finley-awards 

    Minister's office - 6552 6200


    Facebook image Twitter image