Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Former Minister for Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Electoral Affairs

    Public students take top Beazley Medal honours

    30/12/2016 9:45 AM
    • ​2016 top students from Perth Modern School and Esperance Senior High School
    • Third year in a row the Beazley Medal: WACE goes to a Perth Modern student

    Caitlin Revell from Perth Modern School and Tate Bertola from Esperance Senior High School have been named Western Australia's top secondary students for 2016.


    Education Minister Peter Collier said the Beazley Medals were the highest honour in WA secondary education.


    "Today we recognise Caitlin and Tate's hard work and dedication throughout their years of schooling," Mr Collier said.


    Caitlin, who lives in Churchlands, won the Beazley Medal: WA Certificate of Education (WACE) for the highest examination marks across five courses in Year 12.


    Tate was awarded the Beazley Medal: Vocational Education and Training (VET) based on his strong performance in a VET program.


    "I would like to acknowledge Caitlin and Tate's families, friends and teachers, who have helped them on their path to this remarkable success," the Minister said.


    Caitlin also won a general exhibition; subject exhibitions in Biology and Politics and Law; certificates of excellence in Biology, Chemistry, Politics and Law and Physics; and a certificate of distinction.


    Tate's achievements included a VET exhibition and VET certificate of excellence in Automotive, Engineering and Logistics plus consistent achievement of 'A' grades in his WACE courses.


    2016 Year 12 students were the first to complete secondary school under the State Government's new WACE reforms.


    Fact File

    • A record 4,396 awards were issued in 2016, including 50 general exhibitions and 40 subject exhibitions
    • The schools with the highest number of general exhibition winners were Perth Modern School (nine) and Christ Church Grammar School (nine)
    • A full list of award winners is available at http://www.scsa.wa.edu.au

    Minister's office - 6552 6300


    Facebook image Twitter image