Hon Michael Mischin LLB (Hons) BJuris (Hons) MLC

Hon Michael Mischin LLB (Hons) BJuris (Hons) MLC

Former Attorney General; Minister for Commerce

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Former Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

    Greater mobile phone coverage for regional WA

    1/12/2016 6:30 AM
    • 78 additional mobile base stations and small satellite cells to be built
    • $20 million boost announced for the Regional Telecommunications Project
    • Made possible by Liberal National Government's Royalties for Regions program 

    The Liberal National Government will invest an additional $20 million over the next two years to improve mobile phone coverage across regional Western Australia.


    The funding supports the list of 78 sites, released today by the Australian Government, of mobile base stations and small cell satellite installations to be constructed by Telstra and Optus. 


    While Telstra is providing wide area coverage, Optus' small cell satellite solution is an innovative means of providing mobile phone coverage up to a three-kilometre radius for communities and tourist hotspots in remote parts of the State, where wide area coverage is unaffordable.


    The new sites will be delivered under Round 2 of the Commonwealth's Mobile Black Spot Program, supported by the Liberal National Government's Royalties for Regions program.


    Commerce Minister Michael Mischin said the State Government's significant investment, of more than $105 million since 2012 in regional telecommunications, was driving the construction of 344 new or upgraded mobile phone towers and small cell satellite installations in regional WA.


    "More than 146 sites have already been switched on in regional WA since 2012, with another 198 to be rolled out by the end of 2019," Mr Mischin said.


    "This new investment will provide development opportunities for small businesses in remote areas and ensure that people living, working and travelling in regional areas of the State have access to key services."


    Regional Development Minister Terry Redman said the project aimed to narrow the digital divide by eliminating mobile black spots at prioritised locations across regional WA.


    "This successful collaboration with the Commonwealth and industry will provide development opportunities for small businesses in remote areas, and mobile connectivity to support other Royalties for Regions initiatives in tourism, transport and agriculture," Mr Redman said.


    "Tourism is a big winner with new coverage at 10 popular national parks, including Karijini in the Pilbara, Leeuwin-Naturaliste in the South-West and Cape Le Grand near Esperance.


    "Mobile service will also be introduced at seven popular visitor sites along the iconic Gibb River Road in the Kimberley, and coverage gaps will be eliminated along a 600 kilometre stretch of the Great Northern Highway between Wubin and Narracoota."


    Fact File

    Commerce Minister's office - 6552 5600

    Regional Development Minister's office - 6552 6700


      Mobile Network Operator Region Location Shire/City
    1OptusGascoyneKennedy Ranges National ParkCarnarvon
    2OptusGascoyneMt AugustusUpper Gascoyne
    3OptusGoldfields-EsperanceAlexander Bay (campground)Esperance
    4OptusGoldfields-EsperanceCape Le Grand (Lucky Bay Campground)Esperance
    5OptusGoldfields-EsperanceIlkurlka RoadhouseLaverton
    8OptusKimberleyBell GorgeDerby-West Kimberley
    9OptusKimberleyDrysdale River StationWyndham-East Kimberley
    10OptusKimberleyEl QuestroWyndham-East Kimberley
    11OptusKimberleyEllenbrae StationWyndham-East Kimberley
    12OptusKimberleyEmma GeorgeWyndham-East Kimberley
    13OptusKimberleyHome Valley StationWyndham-East Kimberley
    14OptusKimberleyKalumburuWyndham-East Kimberley
    15OptusKimberleyMindibungaHalls Creek
    16OptusKimberleyMt Barnett RHDerby-West Kimberley
    17OptusKimberleyPurnululu 2 - Wilderness LodgeHalls Creek
    18OptusKimberleyPurnululu 3 - KurrajongHalls Creek
    19OptusKimberleyPurnululu Visitor CentreHalls Creek
    20OptusPilbaraKarijini CampgroundAshburton
    21OptusPilbaraKarijini Eco ResortAshburton
    22OptusPilbaraKarijini Visitor CentreAshburton
    23OptusPilbaraMillstream HomesteadAshburton
    24TelstraGascoyneFrancois Peron National ParkShark Bay
    25TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceBroad ArrowKalgoorlie/Boulder
    26TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceDaniell SidingEsperance
    27TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceHarms LakeDundas
    28TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceMount NeyEsperance
    29TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceOra BandaKalgoorlie/Boulder
    30TelstraGoldfields-EsperanceSouth CascadeEsperance
    31TelstraGreat SouthernAlbany-Lake Grace RoadKent
    32TelstraGreat SouthernCheviot Hills RoadKatanning
    33TelstraGreat SouthernMartinup RoadBroomehill-Tambellup
    34TelstraGreat SouthernMount Lindesay RoadDenmark
    35TelstraGreat SouthernNeedilupJerramungup
    36TelstraGreat SouthernShamrock RoadCranbrook
    37TelstraGreat SouthernTone RoadKojonup
    38TelstraGreat SouthernWest TambellupBroomehill-Tambellup
    39TelstraGreat SouthernYeriminup RoadCranbrook
    41TelstraMid-WestMount Magnet SouthMount Magnet
    42TelstraMid-WestMount SingletonYalgoo
    43TelstraMid-WestMt Gibson HighwayPerenjori
    45TelstraMid-WestPaynes FindYalgoo
    46TelstraMid-WestPindarGreater Geraldton
    47TelstraMid-WestPullagaroo RTYalgoo
    48TelstraMid-WestRowland Avenue, IrwinIrwin
    50TelstraMid-WestTenindewa Yuna RoadGreater Geraldton
    51TelstraMid-WestWongoondy Tardun RoadGreater Geraldton
    52TelstraPeelWaroona NorthWaroona
    53TelstraSouth-WestConto's CampsiteAugusta-Margaret River
    54TelstraSouth-WestDeepdeneAugusta-Margaret River
    55TelstraSouth-WestGreater Beedelup National ParkManjimup
    56TelstraSouth-WestJangardup RoadNannup
    58TelstraSouth-WestStrickland RoadNannup
    59TelstraSouth-WestWarren National ParkManjimup
    61TelstraSouth-WestYoganup (Whicher Range)Busselton
    63TelstraWheatbeltArdathBruce Rock
    64TelstraWheatbeltBally BallyBeverley
    68TelstraWheatbeltHolt RockKulin
    73TelstraWheatbeltPiawaningVictoria Plains
    75TelstraWheatbeltSouth YelbiniTammin
    77TelstraWheatbeltWogerlin HillCorrigin



    Facebook image Twitter image