Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

    Project excellence celebrated in public sector

    2/11/2016 6:45 PM
    • Entries received from public sector agencies, local governments and statutory authorities

    A City of Bayswater bird sanctuary and a Department of Health program helping children recover from chronic pain are among this year's winners of the annual Premier's Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management.


    Premier Colin Barnett said nominations for the awards were received from agencies for projects which impacted across the State to those making significant improvements in local communities.


    "Awards programs such as these promote the public sector as an employer of choice, promote the collaborative work of the public sector and the benefits to the Western Australian community, and increase awareness of outstanding bodies of work recognised for excellence in public sector management," Mr Barnett said.


    "The award entries are an excellent way to share good ideas, good methods and great results with each other, other jurisdictions and the wider community."


    This year's awards mark 20 years of celebrating public sector excellence.


    Eight category winners were presented with their certificates along with 11 other finalists at a presentation event at the Office of the Premier and Cabinet this evening. The categories seek to reflect the goals and aims of the Liberal National Government:


    Developing the economy

    • Landgate for New Land Registry: future-ready through innovation
    • LandCorp for Cockburn Commercial Park's successful development in Perth's South West corridor.


    Improving Aboriginal outcomes

    • Department of Water for Mowanjum Project
    • Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority for Kaart Koort Waarnging - Head, heart, talking


    Improving government and reducing red tape

    • Department of Local Government and Communities for Strengthening local government accountability
    • Department of Education for Switch program: Innovation to meet demand for secondary school teachers
    • Department of Finance for Collaboration across government to realise whole of government reform
    • Department of Lands for Land Asset Sales Program


    Managing the environment

    Joint Winners:
    • City of Bayswater for Eric Singleton Bird Sanctuary nutrient stripping wetland
    • Department of Parks and Wildlife for Western Shield
    • Department of Water for Urban waterways renewal project
    • Rottnest Island Authority for Wadjemup walk trail project


    Revitalising the regions

    • Department of Commerce for Regional mobile communications project
    • Department of the Attorney General for Regional courts roll-out
    • Department of Training and Workforce Development for New futures: transforming agricultural education and training for the 21st century


    Strengthening families and communities

    • Department of Health for Princess Margaret Hospital: Empowering families and communities to help children recover from chronic pain
    • City of Armadale for Champion centre our way of working
    • Department of Fisheries for WA's shark notification and response framework


    Western Australia in Asia

    • Department of Mines and Petroleum for Strategic engagement with China's resource sector.


    Fact File

    Premier's office - 6552 5000


    Facebook image Twitter image