Hon Mia Davies MLA

Hon Mia Davies MLA

Former Minister for Water; Sport and Recreation; Forestry

    WA water innovators honoured at awards

    22/10/2016 7:00 AM
    • Range of projects and professionals recognised at AWA WA Water Awards 

    Innovation and sustainable management of water were showcased last night at the 2016 Australian Water Association (AWA) WA Water Awards in Perth.


    Water Minister Mia Davies said each winner demonstrated how innovative thinking formed a vital part of our State's water future.


    "Winners exhibited a wide range of innovation in the water sector, from helping reduce water use, to adapting urban design to reduce nutrient flows and developments in wastewater treatment processes," Ms Davies said.


    "What is promising is many of the award-winning initiatives will continue to benefit WA for years to come and help create more sustainable communities."


    The awards also recognised upcoming young professionals in the water industry and acknowledged the great contribution made by others over many years.


    The winners of the WA awards will now enter the AWA's national awards for the chance to be recognised by the Australian-wide water industry at Ozwater'17 in May 2017.


    The Minister thanked the finalists for their efforts as part of the WA water industry. 


    "I congratulate the 2016 awards finalists and winners and look forward to seeing more innovative ideas at next year's awards," she said.


    "Their input into the water industry ensures we can continue to adapt and meet the challenges of a persistent drying climate."


    The AWA WA Water Awards were supported by the Department of Water and the Water Corporation as part of an initiative to partner with other water organisations and foster innovation across the sector.


    The judging panel is independent of the awards, consisting of Australian Water Association members from across the country.


    Fact File

    Minister's office - 6552 5500




    Program Innovation Award


    Waterwise Office Program - Water Corporation with City of Perth and Property Council of Australia


    Infrastructure Innovation Award


    Ravenswood Pump Station Control System Upgrade - One Stone Consulting with Water Corporation


    WA Water Sensitive Urban Design (Grahame Heal) Award


    Urban Nutrient Decision Outcomes Tool - Department of Water


    WA Innovating for Sustainability (Small Business) Award


    Development and implementation of the anammox process for nitrogen removal from wastewater - Environmental Engineers International


    Student Water Prize


    Ashwin Nayak - Murdoch University


    Young Water Professional of the Year Award


    Halinka Lamparski - Essential Environmental


    Water Professional of the Year Award


    Martin Anda - Murdoch University



    Facebook image Twitter image