Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Former Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

    Visitor centre boost for regional communities

    8/10/2016 9:00 AM
    • Liberal National Government investing $4.2m in regional visitor centres projects
    • Made possible by Tourism WA and the Royalties for Regions program

    Broome, Derby, Halls Creek and Kununurra are among 36 regional centres set to benefit from innovative projects at their visitor centres, through the latest Liberal National Government grant program.


    The Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grant Program, made possible by Tourism Western Australia and Royalties for Regions, is helping visitor centres remain viable in the changing tourism landscape.


    Premier and Tourism Minister Colin Barnett said the investment of $4.2 million over three years recognised the vital role of visitor centres in boosting regional tourism and jobs.


    "Research shows travellers tend to spend more time and money in an area when they use a visitor centre," Mr Barnett said.


    Projects supported in the latest round include a new design and upgraded technology at Broome Visitor Centre; an internal fit-out at Derby, Aboriginal artwork and seating at Halls Creek, and new signage for the Kununurra Visitor Centre and Argyle Downs Homestead Museum.


    "Tourists spent $4.5 billion in regional Western Australia in 2015-16.  By offering a warm welcome and a wealth of local knowledge, visitor centres play a vital role in this important industry," the Premier said.


    "Overall, visitor centres employ more than 900 local people and inject $117 million into the State's economy annually."


    Regional Development Minister Terry Redman said more than $1 million was available in the 2016-17 round to assist regional visitor centres throughout the State with sustainability initiatives such as accreditation, renewable energy, on-site attractions, technology and interior redesign.


    "Visitor centres have a wealth of local knowledge that help visitors discover the best of what the regions have to offer," Mr Redman said.


    "This Royalties for Regions investment contributes to a strengthened and sustainable regional economy through investment in tourism development."


    Fact File

    • The funding pool for the 2016-17 Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grant Program was $1.05 million
    • Grants between $40,000 and $100,000 were available to accredited visitor centres or local government authorities
    • Applications for the 2017-18 round are expected to open in March 2017
    • For more information, visit http://www.tourism.wa.gov.au/otherfunding

    Premier and Tourism Minister's office - 6552 5000


    Successful recipients of Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grant Program 2016-17 Funding Round:

    Beverley Community Resource Centre

    Broome Visitor Centre

    Busselton Visitor Centre

    City of Albany; Albany Visitor Centre

    City of Greater Geraldton; Geraldton Visitor Centre

    Collie Visitor Centre

    Derby Visitor Centre

    Donnybrook Visitor Centre

    Dowerin Community Resource Centre

    Dryandra Country Visitor Centre

    Exmouth Visitor Centre

    Harvey Visitor Centre

    Kalbarri Visitor Centre

    Lake Grace Visitor Centre

    Meekatharra Community Resource Centre

    New Norcia Visitor Centre

    Margaret River Visitor Centre

    Mullewa Community Resource Centre

    Newman Visitor Centre

    Northampton Visitor Centre

    Kununurra Visitor Centre

    Quairading Community Resource Centre

    Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes for Warren Blackwood region

    Shire of Carnarvon; Carnarvon Visitor Centre

    Shire of Coolgardie; Coolgardie Visitor Centre

    Shire of Dandaragan; Turquoise Coast Visitor Centre

    Shire of Halls Creek; Halls Creek Visitor Centre

    Shire of Irwin; Dongara-Port Denison Visitor Centre

    Shire of Kojonup; Kojonup Visitor Centre

    Shire of Kulin; Kulin Visitor Centre

    Shire of Merredin; Central Wheatbelt Visitor Centre

    Shire of Murray; Dwellingup History and Visitor Information Centre

    Shire of Sandstone; Sandstone Visitor Information Centre

    Shire of Shark Bay; Shark Bay World Heritage Discovery and Visitor Centre

    Shire of Three Springs; Three Springs Visitor Centre

    Shire of Toodyay; Toodyay Visitor Centre


    Facebook image Twitter image