Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

Hon John Day BSc BDSc MLA

Hon John Day BSc BDSc MLA

Former Minister for Health; Culture and the Arts

    This House of Grief garners top literary award

    3/10/2016 10:00 PM
    • Helen Garner wins Premier's Prize at the 2016 WA Premier's Book Awards
    • Emerging Writers Award to Brooke Davis for Lost and Found
    • People's Choice Award to Miles Allinson for Fever Of Animals
    • Nine category winners share in $125,000 prize pool

    Renowned Australian author Helen Garner has won Western Australia's top literary award, the prestigious $25,000 Premier's Prize, at the 2016 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards.


    Announcing the winners at the State Library of Western Australia tonight, Premier Colin Barnett paid tribute to the strong field of entries which he said provided a snapshot of the breadth of Australian literary talent.


    "These awards recognise the scope of works available to readers today, from traditional novels, non-fiction works and poetry collections in hard copy, to digital narratives available on tablets and smartphones," Mr Barnett said.


    "I congratulate Helen Garner on winning both the non-fiction category and the Premier's Prize for This House of Grief, and thank everyone who entered, as well as the judging panel for their work in choosing such worthy winners.


    "The Liberal National Government continues to support developing talent, with the Western Australian Emerging Writers Award presented for only the second time. This year it went to Brooke Davis, for her novel Lost and Found, a charming story of three quirky characters on a journey of discovery during a road trip across Australia."


    The Premier also took the opportunity to pay tribute to the late historian Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Bolton AO.


    "Professor Bolton's magnificent contribution to our understanding of Western Australian history has been well recognised in past Premier's Book Awards and it was heartening to see one of his final works, Paul Hasluck: A life, entered posthumously this year," he said.


    Culture and the Arts Minister John Day said there was a big response from readers who voted for their favourite book from the fiction shortlist, in the People's Choice Award.


    "This year the Western Australian public chose Miles Allinson's Fever of Animals, a fine example of spirited writing that reflects the lively state of Australian literature," Mr Day said.


    Fact File

    • 792 entries were received in the WA Premier's Book Awards' new biennial format
    • Category entries were:  Fiction 149, Non-fiction 170, WA History 42, Children's Books 186, Poetry 92, Scripts 42, Writing For Young Adults 72, Digital Narrative 20, WA Emerging Writers 19
    • The People's Choice Award is sponsored by The West Australian
    • For more information, visit http://pba.slwa.wa.gov.au

    Premier's office - 6552 5000

    Culture and the Arts Minister's office - 6552 6200



    2016 WA Premier's Book Awards winners:



    The Golden Age by Joan London

    Published by Vintage Books, 2014



    This House of Grief by Helen Garner

    Published by Text Publishing, 2014


    Children's Books

    The Duck and the Darklings by Glenda Millard, illustrated by Stephen Michael King

    Published by Allen and Unwin, 2014



    The Guardians by Lucy Dougan

    Published by Giramondo, 2015


    State Library of Western Australia Western Australian History

    Running Out? Water in Western Australia by Ruth A. Morgan

    Published by UWA Publishing, 2015


    Writing for Young Adults

    The Protected by Claire Zorn

    Published by University of Queensland Press, 2014


    Western Australian Emerging Writers

    Lost and Found by Brooke Davis

    Published by Hachette Australia, 2014



    Dust by Suzie Miller

    Commissioned by Black Swan Theatre Company WA for 2014 Mainstage season


    Digital Narrative

    Timelord Dreaming by David P. Reiter

    Published by IP (Interactive Publications Pty Ltd), 2014


    People's Choice Award sponsored and presented by The West Australian

    Fever of Animals by Miles Allinson

    Published by Scribe Publications, 2015


    The Premier's Prize

    This House of Grief by Helen Garner

    Published by Text Publishing, 2014


    Facebook image Twitter image