Hon Liza Harvey MLA

Hon Liza Harvey MLA

Former Deputy Premier; Minister for Police; Road Safety; Training and Workforce Development; Women's Interests

    Awards to showcase the best in training

    3/08/2016 11:05 AM
    • 29 finalists vie for State's top honours in vocational education and training 

    The dedication of the State's top achievers in vocational education and training is in the spotlight as finalists are announced for the Liberal National Government's WA Training Awards 2016.


    Deputy Premier and Training and Workforce Development Minister Liza Harvey said 29 finalists would be celebrated as they contested eight individual categories.


    "Being named as a finalist in the State's premier training awards is a great achievement and instils pride in all finalists as their efforts are being recognised at a high level," Ms Harvey said.


    "Their achievement is testimony to their dedication to training and a credit to the people and organisations which make up Western Australia's TAFE and training sector."


    Brendan Carlson is among four finalists contesting the coveted title of WA Apprentice of the Year.  Having served in the Australian Defence Force for six years, Brendan focused his attention on an electrical trade, following in his father's footsteps.  He is now in the final stages of an electrical/instrumentation apprenticeship.


    For Wayne Goedecke, starting a plumbing and gasfitting apprenticeship as a mature age student was a huge challenge.  It has, however, opened up enormous opportunities and created a new future for his young family.


    The practical and logical nature of the electrical trade is what drew Thomas Hoffman to the industry.  He also felt it suited his personality.  Having now completed his electrical qualification, Thomas will work towards an electrical engineering degree.


    Chris Martin has his sights set on establishing a rewarding career an as automotive electrician/mechanic.  To set himself on that path, Chris completed two apprenticeships, focusing on heavy commercial mechanical technology and automotive electrical technology.


    Winners of this year's awards will be announced at a presentation dinner on September 23 and each winner will receive $5,000 in cash or prizes.  Winners may also be eligible to compete against the nation's best in the Australian Training Awards in Darwin in November.


    Fact File

    • This year's awards sponsors include the Australian Medical Association (WA), CCIWA Apprenticeship Support Australia, CCIWA Energy Apprenticeships Group, Crown Perth, Department of Education Services, The Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation, MEGT Perth, NECA WA, PAV Complete Event Solutions, Picton Press, State Training Board, Training Accreditation Council and The West Australian

    Deputy Premier and Training and Workforce Development Minister's office - 6552 5900


    WA Training Awards 2016 - Individual Finalists


    WA Apprentice of the Year 2016 sponsored by CCIWA Energy Apprenticeships Group

    Brendan Carlson

    Wayne Goedecke

    Thomas Hoffman

    Chris Martin


    WA Trainee of the Year 2016 sponsored by Australian Medical Association (WA)

    Nathan Bartlett

    Blake Sayer

    Brendan Sobczak


    WA School-based Apprentice of the Year 2016 sponsored by NECA WA

    Mohammad Ali

    Liam Brien

    Amber Skeffington

    Sterling Winmar


    WA Vocational Student of the Year 2016 sponsored by Career Centre

    Lisa Anfuso

    Louise Brookes

    Brad Mason

    Lauren Rayner


    WA Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year 2016 sponsored by The Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation

    Naomi Beath

    Marika Councillor

    Kathleen Nelly

    Kelsey Nicholas


    WA Cultural Diversity Training Award 2016 sponsored by Crown Perth

    Cristina Mico

    Jasmin Porter


    WA International Student of the Year 2016 sponsored by Department of Training and Workforce Development

    Lynat Chuma

    Ida Linnea Ojala

    Natalie Robinson

    Lien Vanmaele


    WA Trainer of the Year 2016 sponsored by Training Accreditation Council

    Helen Hull

    Alice James

    Tegan Mossop

    Andrew Nicholson


    Facebook image Twitter image