Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

    Search is on for State’s best scientific minds

    23/03/2016 2:30 PM
    • Celebrating the State's best in scientific research and science engagement
    • 2016 awards proudly sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside 

    Premier and Science Minister Colin Barnett today called for applications for the 2016 Premier's Science Awards.


    The 2016 awards feature four categories across scientific research and engagement:

    • Scientist of the Year
    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year. 

    "These awards play an important role in recognising and celebrating the achievements of the Western Australian science community," Mr Barnett said.


    Now in their 15th year, the awards have acknowledged the role and impact of the State's leaders in science.


    Previous recipients have included Professor Mark Cassidy, a distinguished civil engineer whose research has underpinned the safe and economic construction of oil and gas platforms in Western Australian oceans; Professor Ian Small, whose work has built global understanding of how plants capture, store and release energy; and Professor Mark Randolph, a world-leading scientist specialising in developing geotechnical solutions for the offshore oil and gas industry.


    The awards also recognise the important initiatives and activities that encourage community participation in science and inspire younger people to pursue careers in science.


    "Providing opportunities to engage and educate children in science and turning young people towards science is vital for our future scientific capacity," the Premier said.


    Winners will be announced by the Premier at a ceremony on August 18, 2016 during National Science Week, Australia's largest annual celebration of science.


    Application information is available at http://www.dpc.wa.gov.au/Science. Applications close at 10am on Thursday, May 19, 2016.


    Fact File

    • A prize of $50,000 is awarded to the Scientist of the Year and $10,000 to each winner in the other three award categories
    • The 2016 awards are administered by the Office of Science within the Department of the Premier and Cabinet
    • This year marks the 15th year of the awards 

    Premier and Science Minister's office - 6552 5000