Hon Kim Hames MB BS JP MLA

Hon Kim Hames MB BS JP MLA

Former Minister for Health; Tourism

    Awards recognise nursing excellence in WA

    29/02/2016 8:00 AM
    • 34 finalists named in the 2016 WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards
    • Awards to be presented in 11 categories 

    Now in its twelfth year, the annual WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards will be held again in May to honour Western Australia's nurses and midwives.


    Health Minister Kim Hames said the 34 award finalists had been selected from an impressive field of nominees.


    "Our finalists come from diverse work and practice environments," Dr Hames said.


    "They have all demonstrated excellence in their field and are obviously making a real difference to the health of West Australians."


    The Minister said WA's 37,000 nurses and midwives played a critical role in the State's health system, providing an enviable standard of care to those in need.


    "Awards such as these provide the wider community with an opportunity to recognise and reward our nurses and midwives who are at the forefront of ensuring compassionate, safe and effective care," he said.


    The 2016 finalists are based throughout WA and come from public, private and non-government workplaces.


    Winners, including 2016 WA Nurse or Midwife of the Year and the recipient of the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Honour, will be announced at a gala dinner on Saturday, May 7, 2016.


    To see the full list of finalists and to buy tickets to the gala ball, visit http://www.wanmea.com.au


    Fact File

    • The Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards is an annual event co-ordinated by the Department of Health on behalf of all public, private and non-government workplaces
    • The awards fall within International Nurses and Midwives Week 

    Minister's office - 6552 5300