Hon Helen Morton MLC

Hon Helen Morton MLC

Former Minister for Mental Health; Disability Services; Child Protection

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Former Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

    $1.1 million to boost regional tourism facilities

    22/01/2016 8:00 AM
    • Start of $4.2 million investment program
    • 39 visitor centres to benefit  

    Thirty-nine visitor centres across regional Western Australia will share in $1.1 million from the first round of the State Government's Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grants Program.


    The grants program, made possible by Tourism WA and Royalties for Regions, was established to help drive innovation and breathe new life into visitor centres.


    Acting Tourism Minister Helen Morton said the successful applicants came from all corners of the State and would use the money on projects to help secure their financial future.


    "Research shows tourists who use visitor centres tend to stay in a region longer and spend more money," Mrs Morton said.


    "However, a lot of regional visitor centres have found that with more people booking accommodation and tours online, traditional sources of income are drying up.


    "Successful applicants include places as diverse as Carnarvon, Chittering, Esperance, Roebourne and Nannup, with projects ranging from website development to improved signage and, in the case of Geraldton, even creating a mobile visitor centre to move throughout the region.


    "Visitor centres will play a crucial role in helping the State Government achieve its goal of increasing the value of tourism to $12 billion by 2020."


    Regional Development Minister Terry Redman said tourism was a rapidly growing regional sector.  


    "Royalties for Regions will be investing $4.2 million in regional visitor centres over the next three years, with round two to be launched in March 2016," Mr Redman said.


    "Improving visitor experiences means more jobs and opportunities for local communities."


    Fact File

    • A full list of recipients can be found at http://www.tourism.wa.gov.au/otherfunding
    • Accredited visitor centres or local government authorities can apply for grants between $10,000 and $100,000
    • Non-accredited centres working towards accreditation can apply for grants between $10,000 and $40,000
    • For more information on Royalties for Regions projects, visit Bigger Picture - Regions 

    Tourism Minister's office - 6552 5300

    Regional Development Minister's office - 6552 6700


    Regional Visitor Centre Sustainability Grant Program


    Successful applicants for 2015-16 funding round:


    1. Albany Visitor Centre
    2. Augusta Visitor Centre
    3. Boddington Visitor Centre
    4. Bridgetown-Greenbushes Visitor Centre
    5. Broome Visitor Centre
    6. Busselton Visitor Centre
    7. Carnarvon Visitor Centre
    8. Central Wheatbelt Visitor Centre
    9. Dardanup Visitor Centre
    10. Denmark Visitor Centre
    11. Derby Visitor Centre
    12. Dongara-Port Denison Visitor Centre
    13. Dunsborough Visitor Centre
    14. Dwellingup History and Visitor Information Centre
    15. Esperance Visitor Centre
    16. Exmouth Visitor Centre
    17. Geraldton Visitor Centre
    18. Gingin Visitor Centre
    19. Halls Creek Visitors Centre
    20. Harvey Visitor Centre
    21. Kalbarri Visitor Centre
    22. Kalgoorlie-Goldfields Visitor Centre
    23. Karratha Visitor Centre
    24. Margaret River Visitor Centre
    25. Mount Magnet Visitor Centre
    26. Nannup Visitor Centre
    27. Northam Visitor Centre
    28. Northcliffe Visitor Centre
    29. Pemberton Visitor Centre
    30. Port Hedland Visitor Centre
    31. Roebourne Visitor Centre
    32. Shark Bay World Heritage Discovery and Visitor Centre
    33. Shire of Chittering
    34. Shire of Derby-West Kimberley
    35. Shire of Kojonup
    36. Shire of York
    37. The Great Beyond Visitors Centre
    38. Turquoise Coast Visitor Centre
    39. Walpole-Nornalup Visitor Centre