Hon Ken Baston MLC

Hon Ken Baston MLC

Former Minister for Agriculture and Food; Fisheries

    New board for Perth Market Authority

    27/11/2015 6:00 AM
    • Interim board to oversee running of markets until sale is complete
    • Market City trades more than 200,000 tonnes of fresh produce valued at more than $500 million each year 

    A new seven-member board has been appointed to the Perth Market Authority at a time when Market City in Canning Vale transitions to new owners in early 2016.


    They are:

    • Chairman Brian Easton, who also chairs the Perth Zoo board and the Conservation Commission of Western Australia
    • Peter Cooper, Royal Agricultural Society CEO and former Perth Markets CEO
    • Basil Lenzo, Potato Marketing Corporation board member
    • Chris Wilkins, member of several grain growing industry groups
    • Julian Krieg, chair of Rural Financial Counselling Service WA
    • Rob Delane, director general, Department of Agriculture and Food
    • Bruno Mezzatesta, executive director, Department of Fisheries. 

    Agriculture and Food Minister Ken Baston thanked the new board members for taking on the oversight of Western Australia's central fruit and vegetable trading hub for a one-year term until November 2016.


    Mr Baston also thanked the outgoing chair David Thomas and board for their valuable contribution.


    "Each board member brought considerable knowledge and expertise to deliver an efficient wholesale market and support our fruit and vegetable industry," he said.


    "I sincerely thank them for their dedication and professionalism, which will provide a solid foundation for the new owners to take the markets forward into the future."  


    Tenants at the markets include 24 primary wholesalers and more than 80 secondary wholesalers, providores, distributors and food processing facilities, plus a seafood auction, tavern, service station, waste transfer station, a meat processing facility, transport and storage companies, food precincts and public markets.


    Fact File

    • The board members will serve until November 28, 2016
    • The outgoing board members are David Thomas (chairman), Grant Etherington, Diane Fry, Basil Gotsis, Glenn Mews, the late Michael O'Neill and Ermie Robinson
    • For more information, visit http://www.treasury.wa.gov.au/AssetSales
    • The Perth Market Authority is a State Government agency and is governed by the Perth Market Act 1926 and the Perth Market By-laws 1990  

    Minister's office - 6552 5400