Hon Mia Davies MLA

Hon Mia Davies MLA

Former Minister for Water; Sport and Recreation; Forestry

    2015 AWA WA Water Awards winners announced

    24/11/2015 12:05 PM
    • Range of projects and professionals recognised at AWA WA Water Awards
    • Water Minister praises innovative ideas showcased  

    Improving brine disposal through desalination technology and innovative drainage and urban waterways renewal are some of the projects Water Minister Mia Davies has praised, after they were recognised at the 2015 Australian Water Association (AWA) WA Water Awards.


    Ms Davies said the winners, announced at an event at the Duxton Hotel last week, highlighted the commitment by government, industry bodies and the community to keep pace with the need for innovative water solutions.


    "The range and quality of this year's entries has been remarkable," she said.


    "They have ranged from young water professionals forging their careers by driving water awareness in the community, to collaborative approaches to achieving excellence in infrastructure design and development across the State."


    The Minister said the number of joint projects with the State Government's water agencies highlighted the partnerships that were being formed with government to achieve benefits for the entire community.


    "The State Government is committed to working with the private sector to deliver on our plan for managing Western Australia's water needs to the highest standards," Ms Davies said.


    "To achieve this, every one of us has a role to play in championing the waterwise message, while continuing to evolve and transform our thinking towards enduring water security."


    The AWA WA Water Awards were presented by the Department of Water and the Water Corporation.


    Fact File

    • The Australian Water Association is an independent, not-for-profit group representing water professionals and organisations around Australia
    • The awards have been conducted for more than 10 years
    • To find out more about the awards, visit http://www.awa.asn.au/awards/wa  

    Minister's office - 6552 5500


    2015 award recipients


    Research Innovation Award

    Evaluation of Vibratory Shear Membrane Technology for Concentrate Minimisation and Brine Recovery/Recycling, National Centre of Excellence in Desalination Australia 


    Infrastructure Project Innovation Award

    Pilbara Clearwater Alliance, Water Corporation and Downer


    Program Innovation Award

    Rural Water Plan, Department of Water


    Grahame Heal Water Sensitive Urban Design Award

    Urban Waterways Renewal, Department of Water and South East Regional Centre for Urban Landcare


    Conservation and Efficiency Award

    Canning City Centre Arterial Drainage Plan, Essential Environmental


    Resource Management Award

    River health assessments using the South West Index of River Condition, Department of Water


    Undergraduate Water Prize

    Luke Murphy, Rottnest Island Sustainable water expansion project, Murdoch University


    Young Water Professional of the Year Award

    Ben Mitchell, Jacobs


    Water Professional of the Year

    Mike Harold, Rio Tinto Iron Ore