Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Hon Peter Collier BA DipEd MLC

Former Minister for Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Electoral Affairs

    New WA Aboriginal Advisory Council members

    23/10/2015 11:50 AM
    • Eight Aboriginal leaders appointed to the WAAAC
    • Direct communication between Minister and Aboriginal people and communities

    Aboriginal Affairs Minister Peter Collier today announced the appointment of eight members to the Western Australian Aboriginal Advisory Council (WAAAC).


    Mr Collier said the announcement followed an extensive recruitment process from which 38 applications were received.


    "The WAAAC plays an important role in Government, and is a strong and independent voice on issues of importance to Aboriginal West Australians," Mr Collier said.


    Members were selected for their track record in driving change and achieving results, a demonstrated ability to lead and influence policy and strategy, and a commitment to improving social and economic outcomes for Aboriginal people.


    "Their advice is crucial to the development of policy and programs that are genuine, respectful and effective," the Minister said.


    "The incoming members are well qualified and are committed to driving change.  I look forward to working with them.


    "I would also like to acknowledge the contribution of the outgoing members, all of whom made a unique contribution to our drive for improvement in outcomes for Aboriginal people across WA."


    The members are Gail Allison JP, Troy Eaton, Brenda Garstone, Gordon Gray, Phil Matera, Krista McMeeken, Carol Petterson JP and Ian Trust.


    A chair will be elected at the first WAAAC meeting, scheduled for November.


    Fact File

    • The term of appointment will be three years from September 1, 2015 to September 2, 2018
    • The WAAAC is a statutory body that provides a direct line of communication between the Minister and the State's Aboriginal people and communities
    • Member biographies are available at http://www.daa.wa.gov.au  

    Minister's office - 6552 6300