Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

    Premier congratulates Science Award winners

    21/08/2015 5:45 AM
    • Civil engineer, Professor Mark Cassidy announced as 2015 Scientist of the Year
    • Winners announced across four categories recognise excellence in scientific research and engagement
    • Australia's most cited mathematician, Professor Cheryl Praeger announced as the 2015 inductee into the WA Science Hall of Fame

    Premier and Science Minister Colin Barnett has praised the outstanding efforts in science research and science engagement across Western Australia following the 2015 Premier's Science Awards ceremony held last night.


    The top honour was taken out by Professor Mark Cassidy, a highly distinguished civil engineer from The University of Western Australia and Director of the Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems, whose advice has been incorporated into the design of platform and pipeline infrastructure currently being constructed off the coast of WA.


    Mr Barnett said Professor Cassidy's work was contributing to the State's capabilities in the safe and economic construction of oil and gas platforms in the oceans.


    "Professor Cassidy's research has identified solutions to unlock the vast reserves of stranded gas in our remote and deep oceans. It is the application of this science that will allow the State to harness opportunities and become a world leader in operating and maintaining this technology," Mr Barnett said.


    The Premier also congratulated all award recipients across the four categories.


    "In my time as Minister for Science, it has been a privilege to see the reach of science and the outstanding efforts taking place across this State," he said.


    Other 2015 award recipients were:


    • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year: Dr Hannah Moore, a Senior Research Fellow at the Wesfarmers Centre of Vaccines & Infectious Diseases in the Telethon Kids Institute for her work in developing the first model for how the respiratory syncytial virus disease develops and spreads in the community
    • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year: Thomas Russell, a PhD candidate from the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, whose research into black holes is shaping our understanding of one of the greatest mysteries of the universe
    • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year: Earth Science Western Australia in recognition of their contribution to the development of earth science education resources for both students and teachers across the State.

    For the ninth year in a row the awards have also recognised life-long contributions to science through the Western Australian Science Hall of Fame.


    Professor Cheryl Praeger, was announced as the 2015 inductee for her outstanding contributions to the field and her work encouraging the involvement of women in mathematics. As Australia's most highly-cited pure mathematician many of her algorithms have been incorporated into powerful computer algebra and transformed the way in which algebra is taught and researched.


    Professor Peter Klinken, Chief Scientist of Western Australia, who was master of ceremonies at this evening's event and the chair of the judging panel for the 2015 awards said all award winners had demonstrated how science, technology, engineering and mathematics were at the core of finding solutions to issues facing our society.


    "As recently highlighted by the Science Statement for Western Australia, there are numerous stories of outstanding efforts in science taking place across the State.  These achievements have provided value to industry, the community, infrastructure and the environment, " Prof Klinken said.


    "I congratulate all award winners and am sure others will take inspiration from these fantastic achievements."


    Fact File

    Premier's office  - 6552 5000