Hon Terry Redman MLA

Hon Terry Redman MLA

Former Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

Hon John Day BSc BDSc MLA

Hon John Day BSc BDSc MLA

Former Minister for Health; Culture and the Arts

    Regional centres to shape economic future

    7/07/2015 10:30 AM
    • Royalties for Regions to invest $16 million over four years to support the economic, business and social development of nine regional centres  

    Regional Development Minister Terry Redman today announced the next phase in the Regional Centres Development Plan, which will see Broome, Greater Bunbury, Greater Geraldton and Kalgoorlie share in $7.5 million to develop a plan to guide economic growth.


    The investment is part of the Regional Centres Development Plan, which aims to provide $16 million over four years to assist the nine Regional Centres strengthen their capability to grow business, investment and jobs.


    Mr Redman said the initiative aimed to co-ordinate local decision making and support economic development to drive regional growth for the benefit of the whole State.


    "The State Government Royalties for Regions program is committed to building a strong and prosperous network of Regional Centres and SuperTowns across Western Australia," he said.


    "This investment will see Regional Centres work with government to create growth plans to help leverage regional innovation through public-private collaboration and to ensure a strong and sustainable future.  It will bring government, community and business together to ensure a co-ordinated approach to local decisions and initiatives.


    "Regional Centres are at the heart of innovation and prosperity in the regions and I am pleased the State Government is able to support a better quality of life in regional WA."


    Planning Minister John Day said the Regional Centres Development Plan provided a platform for State Government, Regional Centres and SuperTowns to work together to shape their economic future.


    The initiative will be delivered in two stages with $7.5 million being made available immediately to enable the first stage recipients to develop growth plans and partnerships by October 1, 2016.  A second tranche of $8.5 million may be open to Albany, Busselton, Carnarvon, Kununurra and Mandurah in late 2016.


    Fact File

    • The Regional Centres and SuperTowns are identified in the Western Australian State Planning Strategy 2050 as Regional Centres and Sub-Regional Centres respectively
    • The Regional Centres Development Plan was initiated in 2011 through SuperTowns. The SuperTowns are Boddington, Collie, Esperance, Jurien Bay, Katanning, Manjimup, Margaret River, Morawa and Northam
    • For more information on Royalties for Regions projects, visit Bigger Picture - Regions 

    Regional Development Minister's office - 6552 6700

    Planning Minister's office - 6552 6200