Hon Ken Baston MLC

Hon Ken Baston MLC

Former Minister for Agriculture and Food; Fisheries

    Confidence vote for industry-led biosecurity

    1/07/2015 9:00 AM
    • WA's agriculture sector protected through continuation of industry-led funding schemes 

    Agriculture industries in Western Australia have supported the continuation of three industry funding schemes that allow them to raise funds and target biosecurity threats.


    Agriculture and Food Minister Ken Baston declared continuation of the schemes after receiving across-the-board agreement from stakeholders.


    The schemes cover:

    • cattle
    • grains, seeds and hay
    • sheep and goat industry. 

    Cattle producers fund surveillance programs for bovine tuberculosis, bovine Johne's disease and enzootic bovine leucosis, while sheep and goat producers fund virulent footrot control. Grain, seed and hay producers have programs to control skeleton weed and eradicate three-horned bedstraw.


    "Feedback from stakeholders was overwhelmingly positive on the biosecurity benefits of the schemes," Mr Baston said.


    "They appreciate the schemes are industry-led, driven and controlled and believe they reduce red tape, improve collaboration and provide a clear demonstration of industry taking responsibility for biosecurity.


    "Funding schemes enable co-ordinated, whole-of-industry biosecurity programs and improve risk mitigation by facilitating timely responses to issues that threaten agricultural industries.


    "Industry-led and funded biosecurity schemes are in addition to the programs already provided by the Department of Agriculture and Food.


    "Biosecurity is everyone's responsibility - we all need to work together to protect the State's $7 billion agriculture industry."


    Fact File

    • Biosecurity is vital in protecting the State's economy, environment and community
    • The schemes were established in 2010 and an extension will apply from July 1, 2015
    • For more information, visit http://www.agric.wa.gov.au   

    Minister's office - 6552 5400