Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

Former Premier; Minister for Tourism; Science

Hon Tony Simpson MLA

Hon Tony Simpson MLA

Former Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth

Landmark report sets out new look for metro Perth

22/10/2014 12:00 AM
  • Release of the Local Government Advisory Board report on metropolitan local government reform
  • Board recommends Perth’s 30 councils be reduced to 16
  • Minister accepts all but two of the report’s boundary recommendations in the biggest shake-up of local government in 100 years
  • Government to introduce City of Perth Act to reflect capital’s status
  • New local governments will have increased financial sustainability and capacity to cope with Perth’s population growth

The State Government today released the Local Government Advisory Board report, which provides the framework for the most significant reform of metropolitan local government in 100 years.


Of the report's boundary recommendations for metropolitan Perth, Local Government Minister Tony Simpson has accepted all but two, those for the City of Perth/City of Vincent and the proposed City of Riversea, which includes five western suburbs councils.


The Minister has rejected the Board’s recommendation for the City of Perth, on the basis that key icons such as The University of Western Australia (UWA) and the Queen Elizabeth II Medical Centre (QEII), were not included. As a result of the flow-on effects from City of Perth changes, he has also rejected the recommendation for the proposed City of Riversea, which includes five western suburbs councils.


Premier Colin Barnett said the State Government would introduce a City of Perth Act to set the city’s new boundaries and ensure Perth has the status it deserves as Australia’s west coast capital and an increasingly important city in the Asia region.


“The City of Perth must be better-equipped to respond to the demands of a growing State - and better represent WA in the international market.  So, as well as including the City of Vincent in the City of Perth boundaries, which the Board recommended, the City of Perth Act will also include UWA, Kings Park and QEII,” Mr Barnett said.


“Except for the City of Perth and City of Riversea, the State Government endorses the Board’s recommended boundaries. This report provides a clear direction for the most significant step forward for local government reform in 100 years and people in the metropolitan area can clearly see how this process will affect them and the local government authority in which they will live.”


Mr Simpson said while he was rejecting the recommendation for a new City of Riversea - which included Nedlands, Claremont, Cottesloe, Mosman Park and Peppermint Grove - it was clear reform in the western suburbs was still needed.


“The State Government is in very strong support of the Board’s recommendation for an amalgamation of those five western suburbs councils, particularly given the report clearly demonstrates the benefits of fewer western suburbs councils,” he said.


The Board recommended that the Burswood Peninsula, which includes the new Stadium precinct and Crown Resort site, should be part of the new council of South Park, using the river as a natural boundary.  While the new council of South Park will collect rates from Crown Resort, the State will continue to hold planning and development authority.


Mr Simpson said the report confirmed that many metropolitan councils would be more financially sustainable in their new format and said it heralded a new era for local government, with councils able to combine resources, reduce duplication and streamline processes.


“Ultimately, once the new councils are in place, there will be a reduction of more than 100 elected members and 10 Chief Executive Officers, producing estimated savings of more than $20 million for elected member allowances and at least $30 million in CEO packages over 10 years,” he said.


The Minister thanked the Board for its work, and said these inquiries represented the most significant and complex task it had ever undertaken.


The report recommends the following local governments be joined by boundary adjustments:

  • City of Swan and Shire of Mundaring to form City of Swan
  • City of Bayswater and Town of Bassendean to form City of Bayswater
  • City of Belmont and Shire of Kalamunda to form City of Belmont
  • City of Subiaco and Town of Cambridge to form City of Subiaco
  • City of Armadale and the north of Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale to form City of Armadale
  • Shire of Murray and the south of Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale to form Shire of Murray
  • City of Canning and City of Gosnells to form City of Gosnells
  • A modified City of Stirling
  • A modified City of Melville

The report recommends six local governments be amalgamated into three.

  • City of South Perth and Town of Victoria Park to form City of South Park
  • City of Fremantle and Town of East Fremantle to form City of Fremantle
  • City of Kwinana and City of Cockburn to form City of Jervoise Bay

 The cities of Joondalup, Rockingham and Wanneroo are not affected by the local government boundary changes.


      Fact File

  • The report provides interim names for councils, numbers of wards and councillors, and a forecast on the financial sustainability for each new council
  • The Board has suggested interim names for the new local governments until the newly elected councils vote on a new name, in partnership with the community
  • Local government staff have guaranteed jobs for two years

Local Government Minister’s office - 6552 6600

Premier’s office - 6552 5000