Hon Kim Hames MB BS JP MLA

Hon Kim Hames MB BS JP MLA

Former Minister for Health; Tourism

    $8.6m Broome Health Campus ED upgrade starts

    1/07/2014 12:00 AM
    • Major upgrade of Broome emergency department will be finished early 2015
    • New triage and waiting area, two new resuscitation bays
    • Emergency department to remain open during construction

    Work has started on the $8.6million upgrade of the Broome Health Campus Emergency Department.


    Visiting the campus today, Health Minister Kim Hames said the works would provide a major boost to the campus’ emergency services.


    “When completed, the emergency department will have two new resuscitation bays, an isolation room, a new ambulance bay and 15 acute treatment bays, as well as a new triage and waiting area,” Dr Hames said.


    “Broome Health Campus is a major centre for the Kimberley and the upgraded emergency department will assist staff to provide enhanced emergency care to people living in the area.


    “During construction the emergency department will continue to function and disruptions to patients, visitors and staff will be kept to a minimum.”


    The Minister said the upgrade was one of more than 80 projects under way across Western Australia, as part of the State Government’s $7billion investment in health infrastructure.


    “Towns such as Port Hedland, Broome and Karratha have grown in recent years making local infrastructure investment essential - including new and better healthcare facilities,” he said.


    “Almost $700million is being invested in building the health system’s capacity in the North-West, to provide high-quality healthcare closer to home.”


    The emergency department upgrade is being carried out by Norbuilt Pty Ltd.


           Fact File

    • The emergency department upgrade is funded under the National Partnership Agreement Improving Public Hospital Services
    • The project is part of the bigger picture in health. To find out more, visit http://getthebiggerpicture.health.wa.gov.au  

    Minister’s office - 6552 5300