Hon Troy Buswell BEc MLA

Hon Troy Buswell BEc MLA

Former Treasurer; Minister for Transport

    Chairs-elect oversee reform of WA ports

    4/11/2013 12:00 AM
    • Chairs-elect appointed to new regional port authorities
    • Chairs-elect will oversee amalgamation of seven of WA’s ports authorities into four regional port authorities
    • Port reform to improve efficiency of WA’s trade gateways

    Transport Minister Troy Buswell today announced the chairs-elect to oversee the creation of Western Australia’s four new regional port authorities as the Liberal National Government reforms WA ports. 


    Mr Buswell said the four chairs-elect would guide the consolidation of seven of the State’s eight port authorities into four new regional entities. Fremantle will remain a stand-alone port authority.


    He said the reforms would amalgamate regional port authorities to improve efficiency, reduce red tape and maximise the capacity of WA’s ports. 


    “The chairs-elect have two decades’ experience in running ports and will play a key role in steering the transition to more efficient regional ports.”


    The chairs-elect of the four new regional port authorities are:

    • Southern Ports Authority - Neema Premji (current chairwoman, Bunbury Port Authority)
    • Mid West Ports Authority - lan King (current chairman, Geraldton Port Authority)
    • Pilbara Ports Authority - Kenneth Pettit (current chairman, Port Hedland Port Authority)
    • Kimberley Ports Authority - Laurie Shervington (current chairman, Broome Port Authority).

    The State Government last week introduced the Ports Legislation Amendment Bill 2013 into Parliament to amalgamate the regional authorities.


    “The chairs-elect will provide strategic oversight and direction to the amalgamation process, prior to the passage of the legislation,” the Minister said.


    “Once legislation is passed, the chairs will be formally appointed and will have the authority to direct and manage the transition to the new entities.  This provides for greater certainty about the personnel and governance structure of the new port authorities and confidence among customers, board members and staff.”


    The role of each chair-elect will be distinct from their positions as chair of an existing port authority. The new authorities are expected to be established by July 1, 2014.


    Until then, the existing chairs and chief executive officers retain their responsibilities for the operation of their respective ports. 


           Fact File

    • The four new regional port authorities established by the Ports Legislation Amendment Bill 2013 are:
      • Kimberley Ports Authority (initially comprising the port of Broome)
      • Pilbara Ports Authority (initially comprising the ports of Port Hedland, Dampier, and Ashburton)
      • Mid West Ports Authority (initially comprising the port of Geraldton)
      • Southern Ports Authority (initially comprising the ports of Bunbury, Albany and Esperance)

    Minister’s office - 6552 6400