Hon Simon O'Brien MLC

Hon Simon O'Brien MLC

Former Minister for Finance; Commerce; Small Business

    Community urged to nominate consumer advocates

    12/09/2012 12:00 AM
    • Opportunity to nominate consumer advocates to be rewarded
    • Consumer Protection Award nominations close November 30, 2012

    Nominations for the Consumer Protection Awards 2013 have opened with Commerce Minister Simon O’Brien calling on the Western Australian community to nominate consumer advocates.

    Mr O’Brien said it was important to recognise and reward those in the community who promoted consumer rights, provided assistance and educational programs and raised awareness of consumer issues, including child safety.

    “There are numerous people and organisations in our community working tirelessly in the area of consumer education and protection, so this is their opportunity to have that hard work acknowledged,” he said.

    The 2013 awards have four categories:
    • The Rona Okely Award - acknowledges an individual who has influenced and inspired the advancement, development and promotion of consumer protection in their community
    • The Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award - acknowledges a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals operating in WA which has, through their particular field of endeavour, made a significant contribution to the advancement of consumer protection
    • The Kidsafe WA Award - acknowledges those who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of injury prevention for children
    • The Media Award - acknowledges an individual journalist or news media outlet which have made a recent and significant contribution to the advancement of consumer protection.
    Award winners in 2012 were founder and chief executive officer of the Jacaranda Community Centre in Belmont, Lyndsey Fitzgerald; the City of Greater Geraldton; Parents for Window Blind Safety; and Jake Sturmer of ABC TV. 

    “The awards provide a fantastic opportunity for individuals, community organisations, local governments, businesses and media outlets to have their outstanding achievements rewarded, so I urge those working in this area to submit a nomination before the deadline,” the Minister said.

          Fact File

    Minister's office - 6552 5800