Hon Elizabeth Constable MA(Syd) DipEd(UNE) MEd(Harvard) PhD(UWA) MLA

Hon Elizabeth Constable MA(Syd) DipEd(UNE) MEd(Harvard) PhD(UWA) MLA

Former Minister for Education

    Celebrating excellence in Aboriginal education

    16/05/2012 12:00 AM
    • Teachers making a difference for Aboriginal students will be recognised
    • Minister calls on community to nominate an inspiring educator

    Western Australia’s most dedicated teachers in the area of Aboriginal education will be recognised at the WA Aboriginal Education Awards.


    Education Minister Liz Constable, who called for nominations for the awards today, said outstanding teachers, educators and leaders working with Aboriginal students across Western Australia should be acknowledged, their successes shared and learned from.


    “These awards will acknowledge the hard work and dedication of those committed teachers and educators who are shaping a brighter future for Aboriginal students in public schools,” Dr Constable said.


    “There are inspiring people doing amazing work in schools to help Western Australian Aboriginal students achieve their potential.


    “I am determined to see improvements in the education outcomes of Aboriginal students and acknowledge these people who are making progress in this important area of education.”


    The five award categories are:

    • WA Outstanding Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer (Ben Drayton Award)
    • WA Outstanding Aboriginal Teacher (Barry Hayward Award)
    • WA Outstanding School Initiative for Aboriginal Students (Milton Thorne Award)
    • WA Outstanding Leader in Aboriginal Education
    • WA Excellence in Teaching and Learning in Aboriginal Education

    The winners of the WA Outstanding Aboriginal Teacher; WA Outstanding Leader in Aboriginal Education; and WA Excellence in Teaching and Learning in Aboriginal Education category will represent Western Australian public education in the national education awards.


    Tom Price Primary School teacher Freyja Lucas was last year’s nominee for this inaugural national award.


    “Freyja - a year 4 teacher - is an inspirational educator, her hands-on approach to learning has helped to dramatically improve literacy and numeracy results along with attendance rates at her Pilbara school,” Dr Constable said.


          Fact File

    • Winners of all award categories will each receive a prize of $2,500 for professional development and leadership opportunities
    • Nomination forms are on the WA Aboriginal Education Awards website http://www.det.wa.edu.au/aboriginaleducationawards. Nominations close on Tuesday June 5, 2012

    Minister’s office - 6552 5700