Hon Elizabeth Constable MA(Syd) DipEd(UNE) MEd(Harvard) PhD(UWA) MLA

Hon Elizabeth Constable MA(Syd) DipEd(UNE) MEd(Harvard) PhD(UWA) MLA

Former Minister for Education

Experts to ensure high quality education for all

1/02/2012 12:00 AM
  • Emeritus Professor Dr Patrick Garnett to chair new board of SCSA
  • Minister assembles education experts from all fields to protect standards

The membership of the inaugural board of the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) has been announced by Education Minister Liz Constable.


The new authority will replace the Curriculum Council when the Curriculum Council Amendment Act is proclaimed.


Dr Constable said all seven members of the board, chaired by Emeritus Professor Patrick Garnett, met the State Government’s criteria of being eminent educators or experts in their fields, as well as having no current involvement with the governing body of a school or system of schools.


The board includes world renowned education expert UWA Professor David Andrich; former public school principal and Aboriginal education specialist Lucina Cross; former Catholic school principal and Curtin University director Margaret Herley; vocational education and training expert Dr Ruth Shean; early childhood and primary education specialist Professor Christine Ure; and Dr Bruce Matthews, who is a former independent school principal with extensive experience working in education in rural areas.


“The board members will work together as Western Australia’s peak education standards authority, making sure our students receive the best possible education at WA schools,” the Minister said.


“They will manage the implementation of agreed arrangements between the State and Commonwealth in relation to the national curriculum.


“The combined talents and knowledge of these people, all of whom have the requisite qualifications, experience and expertise will better serve the interests of students and the broader community.”


Dr Constable said a key task for the board would be to oversee development of an outline for curriculum and assessment in schools that would replace the Curriculum Framework covering schooling from kindergarten to year 10.  This would include accepting responsibility, at State level, for the management of national testing such as NAPLAN.


“This is a significant expansion of the role of the State’s leading curriculum agency,” she said.


The Minister said Professor Garnett had been appointed for five years and each of the other members of the board for four years.


“I am confident these new arrangements will help us to provide greater clarity for schools about the curriculum that best meets community needs and expectations,” she said.


“We can also expect more comprehensive and reliable reporting of the standards and levels of education being achieved.”


Further information on each board member is available upon request.

       Fact File
  • The board will be supported by a five-member Standards Committee and a 13-member Curriculum and Assessment Committee
  • See attached PDF for information on board members
Minister's office - 6552 5700