Hon John Castrilli MLA

Hon John Castrilli MLA

Former Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

    Heritage grants for Fremantle

    14/12/2011 12:00 AM
    • 2011-12 Heritage Grants Program to deliver $2million in conservation works to State heritage-listed properties across Western Australia
    • $1million in heritage grants awarded to 14 regional and seven metropolitan projects
    Fremantle’s first Presbyterian Church will receive a $100,000 heritage grant for the restoration of its landmark belltower.

    East Fremantle’s Aldgate residence will receive a grant of $12,623 to assist with repairs its original hand-painted decorative ceiling friezes that date back to 1895.

    Heritage Minister John Castrilli said 14 regional and seven metropolitan projects would share in $1million through the 2011-12 Heritage Grants Program.

    “These grants will help owners to revitalise and conserve these important heritage buildings that have played a role in the development of our State,” Mr Castrilli said.

    The Heritage Grants Program offers private owners grants of up to $100,000, on a matched-funding basis, for urgent conservation works to properties on the State Register of Heritage Places.

    Since 1997, 605 projects have received grants totalling more than $12million through the program administered by the Heritage Council through the Office of Heritage.

    “The 121-year-old Scots Presbyterian Church is a significant Fremantle landmark, dominating the corner of South Terrace and Parry Street, and is still used by the Presbyterian community today,” the Minister said.

    The hand-painted ceiling murals, friezes and stencils inside Aldgate were once widespread in grand residences built by wealthy citizens at the turn of the 20th century.

    “These interior decorative elements are now rare and the grant will help ensure that the bedroom and hallway ceilings, cornices and friezes are repaired and conserved for the future,” Mr Castrilli said.

          Fact File
    Minister's office  - 6552 6600