Hon John Castrilli MLA

Hon John Castrilli MLA

Former Minister for Local Government; Heritage; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

    Commissioners appointed to City of Greater Geraldton

    20/05/2011 12:00 AM

    Local Government Minister John Castrilli has announced the appointment of five commissioners at the new City of Greater Geraldton, effective from July 1, 2011.


    The commissioners will perform the role of the council until the inaugural election is held on October 15 this year.


    Ron Yuryevich, mayor of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, has been appointed chairman.  He has previously acted as a commissioner and has significant local government knowledge, experience and understanding of a regional city’s demands.


    Crs Ian Carpenter and Neil McIlwaine, the current mayor and deputy mayor of the City of Geraldton-Greenough, and Crs Antonia Messina and Barbara Thomas, the current president and deputy president of the Shire of Mullewa, have also been appointed commissioners.


    Mr Castrilli said the amalgamation team, comprising representatives from both the City of Geraldton-Greenough and the Shire of Mullewa, had worked very hard in the past year to ensure systems and processes were in place for the merger and had displayed strong leadership in recognising the positive impact of reform.


    “The future is very exciting for the City of Greater Geraldton community which will benefit from being part of a local government body with greater capacity and more leverage with the private sector and State and Federal governments,” he said.


    “The commissioners will ensure that decisions are made and leadership provided on behalf of the expanded community.”


    Minister's office - 9213 6800