Hon Rob Johnson JP MLA

Hon Rob Johnson JP MLA

Former Minister for Police; Road Safety

    SES volunteers recognised for making communities safer

    14/11/2010 12:00 AM

    A dedicated, long-serving volunteer from Karratha, an enthusiastic team from Mandurah and a self-starter from Bayswater were all winners at the State Emergency Services (SES) awards last night.


    Emergency Services Minister Rob Johnson said the three entrants were chosen for their exceptional service to local communities and went above and beyond normal expectations.


    “These awards recognise the amazing efforts of the 1,900 SES volunteers who generously give their time to help local communities during emergencies,” Mr Johnson said.


    “When I look at the high standard of entries at this year’s awards, I feel confident knowing that communities are better protected thanks to the dedication and commitment of these volunteers.”


    The Minister said SES volunteers responded to more than 680 incidents last year, including some of the worst natural disasters in the State’s history.


    “During the past 12 months, SES volunteers have been faced with a category 5 cyclone, the destructive March hailstorm, a significant earthquake and assisted with the devastating Toodyay bushfire,” he said.


    “They faced these challenges head on and many sacrificed time away from family, friends and work to be there when the community needed them.


    “With a busy cyclone and bushfire season expected, we can feel confident knowing we have such dedicated volunteers to help.”


    Nominees were judged on their dedication to duty; involvement in development or implementation of programs; contribution to the service; and excellence in preparedness, response and safety at an incident.




    Youth Achievement Award:  Phillip Hale, Bayswater SES Unit

    Twenty-year-old Phillip Hale has been at the forefront of almost every operation the Bayswater SES unit has responded to since he joined in 2009. Phillip spent eight days working tirelessly to help the community following the devastating March hailstorm and spent hours assisting two recent searches. He also provides assistance during training and is always ready to help others, displaying a level of confidence beyond his 20 years.


    Team Achievement Award:  Mandurah SES Unit Training Section

    The Mandurah SES unit has developed an enthusiastic and highly skilled team of qualified trainers and assessors.  The team members are dedicated to maintaining their individual skills and qualifications in order to deliver quality training to fellow SES volunteers.  This includes map reading, four-wheel driving, search and rescue, communications, storm damage and roof safety systems. They continue to volunteer their time to provide training courses to not only the Mandurah SES Unit, but other units in the South-West including Waroona, Murray, Collie and Margaret River.


    Peter Keillor Award:  Trevor Patton Karratha SES Unit

    Trevor Patton has been a member of the Karratha SES for 25 years and local manager for the past five.  He has also held the positions of rescue officer and deputy rescue officer. Trevor has worked across a range of operations, including major cyclone call-outs, searches and cliff rescues.  He regularly leaves work to attend emergencies and so far this year, has devoted more than 1,000 hours to training, operations and planning.  His role with the SES has helped him overcome a fear of heights and, among his credentials, he is a qualified cliff rescue team member.  Trevor has also been instrumental in building good working relationships with other agencies. 


    Minister's office - 9222 9211