Hon Graham Jacobs MBBS FRACGP MLA

Hon Graham Jacobs MBBS FRACGP MLA

Former Minister for Water; Mental Health

    WAM Song of the Year Competition winners announced

    9/10/2009 12:00 AM

    Talented local musicians were recognised last night at the WA Music (WAM) Song of the Year Competition at the Fly By Night Musicians' Club in Fremantle.


    Winners were announced across 16 categories, with the WAM Song of the Year grand prize awarded to pop band Umpire for their composition, ‘Streamers’.


    Mental Health Minister Graham Jacobs said more than 1,000 entries were received, showing the depth of talented songwriters and musicians in Western Australia.


    “These individuals and groups are committed to the music industry as well as spreading the 2009 competition message of creating a mentally healthy community,” Dr Jacobs said.


    “I am particularly pleased to see young, up and coming artists, as well as established local acts, involved in this competition.”


    The WAM Song of the Year Competition is presented in partnership with the WA Department of Health, Mental Health Division, to raise awareness of the benefits of creative activities such as songwriting, to people’s mental health and wellbeing.


    The Mentally Healthy Category introduced this year to reflect the link between music and mental health, was won by Black Board Minds for their song ‘I’m Not Scared’.


    Lead singer and guitarist, Andrew Miller is also an occupational therapist at Graylands Hospital and co-ordinates music groups with psychiatric patients.


    “The main chorus of our song is ‘I’m not scared of losing my mind I hear it happens to good people all the time’,” Mr Miller said.


    “Mental illness is indiscriminate and happens to the best of people; including your family, neighbour, friend, teacher, favourite artist and doctor. There is no real place for shame or blame.


    “As a band, we strongly value what music has done for us and its healing potential. Proceeds of our album will help purchase instruments for patients in psychiatric care facilities.”


    Other winners included:

    • Mathas - 'Skyhawks'
    • Michael Strong and The Ghost Anyway - 'Son Of A Son Of A King'
    • Simon and Tammy London - 'Spirit Calling'
    • Minute 36 - 'Era Quondam'
    • Convict X - 'Everything'
    • King George - 'Rocket Ship'
    • Sugar Army - 'Acute'
    • Voyager - 'Total Existence Failure'
    • Divcraft - 'Lover Don’t You Wanna'
    • Tangled Thoughts Of Leaving - 'A Vexing Predicament'
    • Timothy Nelson - 'Sleeping Alone'
    • Tilman Robinson - 'Thinking Without Thinking'
    • Black Poet - 'Here I Go'
    • Scott Tomlinson - 'They Wanna Dance

    Local bands have also participated in the new youth mental health initiative, ‘Music Feedback: What if we talked about music the same way we talk about mental illness?’ It includes a compilation CD/DVD, documentary and website which de-stigmatises mental illness and encourages young fans to talk about problems and seek help. For more information visit, http://www.musicfeedback.com.au  


    Minister's office - 9213 6900