Pages - Statement Details
Media Statements : Statement Details

Hon Colin Barnett MEc MLA

    A new Cabinet for a new Government

    Wednesday, 20 March 2013
    • Five new Ministers to join revamped Cabinet line-up
    • MLC Ken Baston and MLAs Mike Nahan, Tony Simpson, Albert Jacob and Joe Francis to join front bench

    Premier Colin Barnett has today announced the State Government’s new Cabinet, welcoming five new Ministers to the front bench.


    “The beginning of the Liberal National Government’s second term is an exciting time and it presents an excellent opportunity to bring some fresh ideas and new approaches to the Cabinet table,” the Premier said.


    Mr Barnett announced that Mining and Pastoral Region MLC Ken Baston would become the Minister for Agriculture and Food, Riverton MLA Mike Nahan would take the portfolios of Energy; and Finance along with Citizenship and Multicultural Interests, Darling Range MLA Tony Simpson would become Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; and Youth, Ocean Reef MLA Albert Jacob would assume the dual responsibilities of Environment; and Heritage while Jandakot MLA Joe Francis would be Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services; and take the new portfolio of Veterans.


    “I believe the Liberal National Government has been a strong and stable Government with an excellent group of Ministers who have been good decision-makers and who have also always shown the highest ethical standards,” he said.


    “But we have a wealth and depth of talent and I am delighted to be able to take this opportunity to bring the skills and experience of several new Ministers to the Government’s front bench.


    “These members have all demonstrated their capacity and willingness to serve as parliamentary secretaries or as members of standing committees. Tony Simpson and Ken Baston have also been Government Whips in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council respectively.


    “They all have also demonstrated an ability to represent their local communities well, and those skills will be vital in their new roles.”


    Other changes will see the Premier follow through on his election commitment to add Science to his State Development portfolio, Helen Morton will add Child Protection to Mental Health; and Disability Services, Bill Marmion now takes the portfolios of Mines and Petroleum, along with Housing, Terry Redman will add Training and Workforce Development, as well as Water, to his existing responsibility for Forestry, Liza Harvey will take Small Business; and Women’s Interests and keep her existing portfolios of Police; and Road Safety, Peter Collier (Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council) adds Electoral Affairs to Education and Aboriginal Affairs, and Attorney General Michael Mischin will now also accept responsibility for Commerce.


    Deputy Premier Kim Hames, will continue to guide the Health and Tourism portfolios. Nationals leader Brendon Grylls retains his portfolios of Regional Development; and Lands, and will focus as a priority on encouraging and attracting strategic agricultural investment.


    The Premier thanked Brendon Grylls and Kim Hames for their support in delivering ethical government with a broad policy focus.


    Troy Buswell keeps Treasury and Transport and adds Fisheries.


    John Day will replace Kim Hames as Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly, and continue as Minister for Planning; and Culture and the Arts.


    Terry Waldron carries on his role as Minister for Sport and Recreation; and Racing and Gaming.


    “I congratulate both the new Ministers and the existing Ministers on their appointment to Cabinet for this second term and look forward to working closely with them over the next four years of Government,” Mr Barnett said.


    The Premier has also announced the appointment of eight Parliamentary Secretaries, Donna Faragher, John McGrath, Alyssa Hayden, Jim Chown, Paul Miles, Andrea Mitchell, Mia Davies and Colin Holt.


    Mr Barnett also said Mount Lawley MLA Michael Sutherland would be nominated for the position of Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Kalgoorlie MLA Wendy Duncan would be nominated for the position of Deputy Speaker.


    Carine MLA Tony Krsticevic has been appointed Government Whip in the Legislative Assembly.


    The new members replace Norman Moore who retired at the last election and John Castrilli who has asked not to be considered for a Cabinet position. Simon O’Brien, Robyn McSweeney and Murray Cowper have also left Cabinet.


    The Premier sincerely thanked all the outgoing Ministers for their enormous contribution to the State and dedication to the job.


    The new Cabinet is due to be sworn in by His Excellency Malcolm McCusker AC CVO QC, Governor of Western Australia on Thursday.


    Premier’s office - 6552 5000




    Colin Barnett MLA                             Premier; State Development; Science
    Kim Hames MLA                               Deputy Premier; Health; Tourism
    Brendon Grylls MLA                          Regional Development; Lands; Assisting on State Development

    Peter Collier MLC                             Education; Aboriginal Affairs; Electoral Affairs; Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

    Troy Buswell MLA                             Treasurer; Transport; Fisheries

    John Day MLA                                   Planning; Culture and the Arts; Manager of Government Business in the Legislative Assembly

    Liza Harvey MLA                               Police; Road Safety; Small Business; Women’s Interests

    Terry Redman MLA                           Training and Workforce Development; Water; Forestry

    Helen Morton MLC                            Mental Health; Disability Services; Child Protection

    Michael Mischin MLC                       Attorney General; Commerce

    Bill Marmion MLA                              Mines and Petroleum; Housing
    Terry Waldron MLA                           Sport and Recreation; Racing and Gaming
    Ken Baston MLC                               Agriculture and Food
    Mike Nahan MLA                               Energy; Finance; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests
    Tony Simpson MLA                           Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth
    Albert Jacob MLA                              Environment; Heritage
    Joe Francis MLA                               Emergency Services; Corrective Services; Veterans



    Donna Faragher MLC                       Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier; Minister for State Development; Science
    John McGrath MLA                            Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier; Minister for State Development; Science
    Alyssa Hayden MLC                          Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier; Minister for Health; Tourism
    Jim Chown MLC                                 Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer; Minister for Transport; Fisheries
    Paul Miles MLA                                  Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney General; Minister for Commerce

    Andrea Mitchell MLA                         Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Mental Health; Disability Services; Child Protection
    Mia Davies MLA                                Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Regional Development; Lands; Minister Assisting the Minister for State Development

    Colin Holt MLC                                   Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Training and Workforce Development; Water; Forestry